Matcha Made in Heaven

My taste buds and I are pretty tight these days. Let’s just say I found a new somethin somethin that makes them ooh and ahh. This gem is the green tea latte and it. is. a. gamechanger.

It’s fresh. It’s clean. It boosts your metabolism and it’s soothingly sweet. The green tea latte is the amazingly talented yet shy and humble younger sister of the chai tea latte that starts getting attention from boys in high school when her braces come off. It’s up and coming and it is phenomenal.

For green tea lattes, regular green tea bags can’t be used. 😦 Matcha, the powder form of green tea, gives the latte that sweet green tea touch without an overdose of bitterness.

It’s so simple to make!
All you need is…
-Soy milk (as much as you want for your cup + a little too froth)
-Matcha powder (1 tablespoon or less)
-sweetener (1/2 splenda packet or 1 teaspoon reg sugar)

That’s it. It’s inexpensive people. Sorry Starbucks I’m not about to throw you $5 for something that costs probably a $1 a cup or less.

Directions: Heat up the milk for 1 minute 30 seconds in microwave. OR 1 minute 45 for froth. Be careful going over 1:30 bc the milk will spill over the top. You just have to feel out your microwave’s heat levels. Stir in the matcha powder and the sugar. Done!

Getting the Matcha: Most tea shops will have matcha powder. Some tea shops will have multiple different options. I personally like the Jasmine Green Tea matcha powder. I think it’s light and sweet. It has less of a grassy taste than other green tea powders they might. I also found the Jasmine Green Tea matcha powder was the least expensive of the other options so that was a VERY large contributing factor.

Please try this and enjoy this green tea world that I now live in! It’s a wonderful place to be. I’ve really found my match…a. (Wowww i’m hilarious..)

Leave a comment